skip to main content skip to footer

Reviews

good experience ... read more
Vance Ward via google.com - Jun 21, 2021
In a word authentic! Great smells and food is amazing. Definitely worth your visit and your money. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Definitely get the rotisserie chicken and one of their amazing sides. They sell alcohol too.
James Reid via google.com - Jun 19, 2021
The best ... read more
Anibal Rivera via google.com - Jun 19, 2021
Everything here is delicious ... read more
Jeremy Sharp via google.com - Jun 12, 2021
The best restaurant in cville!
Tucker Cullen via google.com - Jun 9, 2021
Wife and I decided to try this place last night. Pleasantly surprised. Sauces and chicken were fantastic. The chorizoqueso and guac were awesome. The sides were perfect. Will definitely add to my list of favorites.
Steven Stitz via google.com - Jun 9, 2021
Fantastic charcoal cooked chicken. Sides are adventurous for those accustomed to beans and rice. This is a regular go to for my daughter and I.
Adam Stevens via google.com - Jun 3, 2021
Staying in town for the night, picked this place from the reviews. I had the half chicken, plantains, and yucca. I'm from the South, and accustomed to BBQ slow cooked over a smoky pit, and I eat it without sauces. Let me tell you, the first bite, and I was in heaven. Perfectly juicy and tender without falling off the bone. Incredibl ... read more
Barry Groover via google.com - May 31, 2021
The best rotisserie chicken and tamales in our area. We've only been there once but will surely go a
The best rotisserie chicken and tamales in our area. We've only been there once but will surely go again. I would suggest calling ahead to place your order as it is very busy and takes a little long for your food.
Shelly R. via yelp.com - May 29, 2021
I moved here from Arizona and have relatively high expectations for tacos, while these aren't Mexican tacos, they are absolutely phenomenal. Their tortas are incredible, the esquites are mouth watering, the beans are out of this world. I'd describe more things but I'm running out of cliches. Seriously try anything here I guarantee ... read more
Dillon Ramsey via google.com - May 27, 2021
My husband and I stopped in here on our recent vacation and we were not disappointed! The chicken was unbelievable, and I loved the street corn as well. My husband got the steak sandwich and he thought it was amazing! We will definitely be coming back here if we’re ever in the area! Highly recommend!!!
Cameron Vines via google.com - May 26, 2021
The chicken all by itself is perfectly seasoned and packed with flavor. Add the sauces and the sides
The chicken all by itself is perfectly seasoned and packed with flavor. Add the sauces and the sides, and this is just outrageous. I especially recommend the yucca and the toreados y cebollitas. We ate the leftovers with scrambled eggs the next morning.
mdiv2001 via tripadvisor.com - May 25, 2021
The food here is delicious. Everything I've tried has been on point.
Connie Owuor via google.com - May 24, 2021
Good food, friendly staff.
Ibrar Ahmed via google.com - May 24, 2021
Everything I've had here tastes great! If you go for the special cemita, be ready for a whole lotta good food though!
Taylor Kuykendall via google.com - May 23, 2021
How come it took me 7 years of coming to pick kids up at school to find this place? Very low key, am
How come it took me 7 years of coming to pick kids up at school to find this place? Very low key, amazing food. The white breast meat was tender and juicy and the plantains that I didn't eat made it all the way back to atlanta to eat the next night! Thinking this may be what we order for graduation next may!!! Simple and amazing!
leslie s. via yelp.com - May 23, 2021
We were new to the area last summer, and were excited to try something new. We absolutely loved thei
We were new to the area last summer, and were excited to try something new. We absolutely loved their whole chicken, Mac and cheese, and street corn. The food is so authentic and delicious every time. You cannot go wrong here!
Jared T. via yelp.com - May 23, 2021
Excellent chicken Great service Amazing flavors Nice variety Menu items include a good variety
Excellent chicken Great service Amazing flavors Nice variety Menu items include a good variety ... read more
Phil D. via yelp.com - May 22, 2021
I can't say enough good stuff about this place. The food is absolutely delicious. The first time we
I can't say enough good stuff about this place. The food is absolutely delicious. The first time we tried it we wanted to go back the very same day to try more. An exciting menu with tons of variety and the atmosphere inside is just perfect. This place is an experience that will leave you wanting more.
Carly G. via yelp.com - May 22, 2021
Probably the best food in town. All wood fired, tender and juicy chicken, etc., great tacos, awesome sides. Staff is exceptional!!
Karen Kocik via google.com - May 18, 2021
My husband and I eat here multiple times a week. We crave it when we are out of town and can’t wait to get home to our favorite local spot. The el pastor tacos and cilantro jalapeño sauce are our favorites but honestly- everything on the menu is delicious. We love this place. The service and food are quite simply- amazing.
Ashley Holden via google.com - May 15, 2021
Love this place! Chicken is so tasty! I think my favorite is the green rice. All the sauces have great flavor. My picky kids even like to eat here. They like the yucca fries green rice and chicken legs.
Sandra Spencer via google.com - May 15, 2021
The best chicken I've ever had. And compostable containers, socially distanced, fast. Love love love... Job well done..
Jennifer Blanchard via google.com - May 14, 2021
Once you taste their chicken, you won't be able to eat one of those pathetic, grocery store rotisserie chickens ever again. Add their sauces to the mix, and this place will have you coming back again and again. The sides are delicious, and they actually had cactus on the menu! The new ribs were also good, and the cemitas and tacos ... read more
Brad Arnold via google.com - May 10, 2021
It was OK. The margaritas were expensive for a half of the cup and the rest is ice for 9.00. Not again. Chicken breast were dry but the thighs were juicy. Husband and I made tacos from the La Familia. Seasoning needed.
Cutie Mrs. via google.com - May 8, 2021
Excellent! Very tasty, authentic!
Bonitia Cleary via google.com - May 8, 2021
Our food was good! They give generous portions for both the entrees and kids meals. The only reason
Our food was good! They give generous portions for both the entrees and kids meals. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I wish the chicken and salsa had more flavor.
Stephany W. via yelp.com - May 7, 2021
Great flavor and fabulous side dishes, the horchata is very tasty. Only problem is the long wait.
Janneth Vega via google.com - May 6, 2021
This place is incredible. We ordered the La Familia today and it is SO much food for such a great pr
This place is incredible. We ordered the La Familia today and it is SO much food for such a great price. The plantain sauce is amazing!!!
Kristen P. via yelp.com - May 6, 2021
The smell alone will coax you into this place…fantastic chicken (and you get a ton of it on the cem
The smell alone will coax you into this place…fantastic chicken (and you get a ton of it on the cemitas/sandwiches). Everything from the bread down to the onions was great on my sandwich. Looking forward to trying a lot more in their menu.
Kevin Kellam via facebook.com - May 5, 2021
I highly recommend this restaurant, they have delicious food!!
Jua Espinoza via google.com - May 2, 2021
Pretty good ... read more
Caspa Clark via google.com - Apr 27, 2021
Best chicken in Charlottesville.
Adam Denton via google.com - Apr 27, 2021
First visit - take-out Great portions delicious sandwich Sides: Yucca fries (these are Great! Dippin
First visit - take-out Great portions delicious sandwich Sides: Yucca fries (these are Great! Dipping Aji mayo sauce Yum!) Plantains (no dip sauce needed - but it does come with some) ... read more
Phil E. via yelp.com - Apr 25, 2021
The food was very tasty and we really enjoyed it! The chicken, street corn and tamales was the best
The food was very tasty and we really enjoyed it! The chicken, street corn and tamales was the best we ever had! Will definitely visit Al Carbon Chicken when we are in town!
Penny Fuller- Reed via facebook.com - Apr 19, 2021
Probably the best rotisserie chicken I've ever had in my life! Love this place! The food is so good
Probably the best rotisserie chicken I've ever had in my life! Love this place! The food is so good and not overly greasy like other places. Also they don't slather their tacos with cheese and sauce to make up for the lack of flavor. It holds up by itself and that truly makes this place worth a visit!
Chase W. via yelp.com - Apr 19, 2021
I SWEAR BY THIS CHICKEN PLACE. I just absolutely adore them. Have been eating here since I started a
I SWEAR BY THIS CHICKEN PLACE. I just absolutely adore them. Have been eating here since I started at UVA, when they were still a small and homey shop to after they expanded. Just cannot love them more. The chicken is so tender and juicy, and packed with flavors! The sides are delicious - my favs are the Plantains and Green Poblano r ... read more
Christine L. via yelp.com - Apr 18, 2021
I'm hesitant to even write this review because I'm exposing the most hidden gem in Charlottesville.
I'm hesitant to even write this review because I'm exposing the most hidden gem in Charlottesville. I went to UVA for 4 years and never went here until I visited a friend years later. Don't sleep on Al Carbon!!! You can't go wrong. Get the family meal. Street corn. Churros. Margaritas. Really anything. This place is probably about to ... read more
Laura M. via yelp.com - Apr 14, 2021
I love this place. Order the Para Para (half a chicken with 2 sides and salsa) with esquites (world's best corn dish) and either frijoles charros (pinto beans) or green piblano rice.
Marc Campbel via google.com - Apr 13, 2021
Highly recommend. Chicken, plantains, rice, salsas, sauces, everything we've had we've definitely en
Highly recommend. Chicken, plantains, rice, salsas, sauces, everything we've had we've definitely enjoyed and we always make it a priority to order from here when we're visiting Charlottesville. A can't miss for our family.
Stacey R. via yelp.com - Apr 13, 2021
Always fresh, delicious food. I highly recommend both the plantains and the Mac and cheese. Online ordering makes pick up really easy.
Colin Thomas via google.com - Apr 10, 2021
Great fresh ingredients and delicious roasted chicken. Friendly curious staff. Recommended for lunch or a quick bite when on Route 29.
Anna B via google.com - Apr 10, 2021
They get it right.....Inexpensive, quality food....very clean and great people.
Steven K via google.com - Apr 10, 2021
I'm never one to order chicken at a restaurant because anyone can cook chicken right? Wrong. I was a
I'm never one to order chicken at a restaurant because anyone can cook chicken right? Wrong. I was a firm believer in that statement until I had Al Carbon. Now I am a firm believer in that no one can cook chicken EXCEPT Al Carbon. The chicken was unreal. I ordered 2 chicken tacos and 2 fish tacos figuring that the fish would be bette ... read more
Margaret H. via yelp.com - Apr 8, 2021
The food was incredible! The chicken's seasoning was perfect, and the fried plantains were not to sweeet but not bland either. One of the best places in town and I highly recommend it!
Sebastian Krushkal via google.com - Apr 5, 2021
WOW! This is one of those unassuming places that just amazes you. From the moment you walk in, you l
WOW! This is one of those unassuming places that just amazes you. From the moment you walk in, you love the smell. We were excited to order. We got tacos and burritos and were not disappointed. The chicken and beef were succulent and delicious. I only wished we lived in Charlottesville because we would be regulars. If you appreciate ... read more
Nancy S. via yelp.com - Apr 5, 2021
New ribs are AWESOME. It felt sacreligious to not get the rottis chicken, but the ribs were phenomen
New ribs are AWESOME. It felt sacreligious to not get the rottis chicken, but the ribs were phenomenal. I hate when BBQ places serve ribs "fall of the bone" and they're basically slimey stewed mush..... NOT THESE! Nice meaty texture but still tender and delish tangy/sweet tequila lime flavor.
Owen B. via yelp.com - Apr 5, 2021
The fried plantains with sweet sauce were worth coming here alone, but everything else was tasty. We
The fried plantains with sweet sauce were worth coming here alone, but everything else was tasty. We particularly liked the al pastor taco, the cilantro sauce, and the tamale with beans and sour cream was good we will definitely go there again!
susantO9600LC via tripadvisor.com - Apr 3, 2021
Fresh and delicious! All the sauces and salsas were so flavorful. That rotisserie chicken was super
Fresh and delicious! All the sauces and salsas were so flavorful. That rotisserie chicken was super moist, with tons of flavor.
Amy K. via yelp.com - Apr 3, 2021
The chicken melts in your mouth, so good!
Kristina Chisler via google.com - Apr 1, 2021
Bery good ... read more
aimee Zeron via google.com - Mar 30, 2021
Amazing, delicious food, everything taste good, they get a lot of foot traffic which should say something about them. I feel like they don't advertise enough ... read more
Fernando M via google.com - Mar 28, 2021
Absolutely delicious. Chicken was perfect and street corn was phenomenal. Definitely a must have!
Torey Schultz via google.com - Mar 28, 2021
I have had everything on the menu. Always fresh, great price... very tasty. Ribs, chicken, chorizo tacos are awesome!
NY OB via google.com - Mar 26, 2021
Honestly one of the yummiest authentic places here in Charlottesville. Can't wait to try all their f
Honestly one of the yummiest authentic places here in Charlottesville. Can't wait to try all their food!
Llenifer V. via yelp.com - Mar 23, 2021
The food is great and their rotisserie chicken seasoned down to the bone!
S Beauford via google.com - Mar 22, 2021
¡Muy bien amigos!
Erik Hatcher via google.com - Mar 20, 2021
The food is fantastic and has been for years, I live 2 hours away and made a road trip planned around eating the chicken and grilled veggies, they have options for everyone from lone diners to familys of 40+ people. One of the best spots in Charlottesville ... read more
DBL D via google.com - Mar 6, 2021
Had the carnitas sandwich and it was really good and bigger than I expected. The street corn was fantastic as well.
David Schenck via google.com - Mar 3, 2021
Good is amazing and prices are very affordable. The chicken is moist and tasty , the sides are great
Good is amazing and prices are very affordable. The chicken is moist and tasty , the sides are great as well as the salsas ! I highly recommend!
Andrea K. via yelp.com - Feb 28, 2021
Chicken is always bomb. But, I have to say the carry out service is top notch. The team makes sure y
Chicken is always bomb. But, I have to say the carry out service is top notch. The team makes sure you have your entire order ready in a timely manner and they are super nice ... read more
Vanessa A. via yelp.com - Feb 27, 2021
Food was absolutely amazing girlfriend and I got the ribs and they were fall off the bone! So tender!
Daniel Keene via google.com - Feb 24, 2021
Yes. Yes. Yes. My family and I eat here. My office orders lunch from here. You absolutely can't go wrong with this restaurant. The food is sooo fresh, service is awesome.
Pamela Hernandez via google.com - Feb 21, 2021
This place is definitely a hidden gem. The food is delicious and always fresh. I love that I can ord
This place is definitely a hidden gem. The food is delicious and always fresh. I love that I can order and pay online. They seem to be doing a great job keeping up with COVID-19 precautions. I highly recommend the chicken, fries, and street corn.
Christopher R via tripadvisor.com - Feb 13, 2021
Delicious food every time! Al Carbon's chicken is leaps and bounds about the rotisserie chickens in the grocery stores. The flavor is consistent and the chicken moist. The side dishes are good as well especially the street corn (whether on or off the cob), fried plantains & mac and cheese. I also appreciate their use of paper-based c ... read more
April Rodgers via google.com - Feb 11, 2021
Queso and Chorizo dip on point!
Oscar Perez via google.com - Feb 11, 2021
Best charcoal grilled chicken and ribs in town!
Simona Hudson via google.com - Feb 6, 2021
Be sure to check your order before takeaway. After being handed the wrong order and having to then
Be sure to check your order before takeaway. After being handed the wrong order and having to then drive 20min each way to get the right one I was told by the rude manager “not to worry about it” thankfully the food is good and other staff very friendly, but this guy.... I ... read more
Tawna Shea via facebook.com - Feb 6, 2021
I love this rotisserie chicken. Taste like butter. The corn with cheese is great. Fried plantains an
I love this rotisserie chicken. Taste like butter. The corn with cheese is great. Fried plantains and so much more! Camita sandwich huge and delicious ... read more
Stephanie A. via yelp.com - Feb 6, 2021
Want To Tell Us About Your Experience?
GoogleMyBusinessFoursquareFacebookYelpZomatoTwitterTrip AdvisorYouTubeGrouponInstagramOpen TablePinterestZagatFlickrLinkedInTumblrTheKnotWeddingWire