skip to main content skip to footer

Reviews

The best quality price ratio for delicious Peruvian chicken and sides! My review was deemed as short
The best quality price ratio for delicious Peruvian chicken and sides! My review was deemed as short but less is more in this case, this is delicious food. The staff is also super nice ... read more
Simonetta L. via yelp.com - Sep 21, 2021
This is the best restaurant in town. It is always delicious. Everything I have ever had from there has been delicious. This is the only place in town, that if it were to close down, I would be devastated. I am making myself hungry just writing this review.
Paul Schneider via google.com - Sep 15, 2021
Authentic Mexican food. Pleasant staff and environment.
Christine Harcum via google.com - Sep 9, 2021
One of the BEST places in Charlottesville. Their chicken samitas, guac, and their fries are incredible. You will be in love with their chicken.
Summer Dahlen via google.com - Sep 4, 2021
One of our favorite restaurants in cville. It's a little up 29 so if you live on the north side it's
One of our favorite restaurants in cville. It's a little up 29 so if you live on the north side it's great! We LOVE their cemite sandwiches, carne asada burritos, tacos, fried plantains, and mixed vegetables. You cannot beat it. The green pablano rice is amazing. Highly recommend!!!
Katelyn B. via yelp.com - Aug 25, 2021
Fabulous Chicken for the price and friendly Staff.
Greg Morris via google.com - Aug 24, 2021
I forget about this wonderful place and met a friend here tonight. The Flautas are now my new favorite and I see myself grabbing these several times a week ... read more
Chris Daschbach via google.com - Aug 21, 2021
You have to get either a half chicken with any of the sides - because they are all delicious - or th
You have to get either a half chicken with any of the sides - because they are all delicious - or the tacos! The jalapeño cilantro sauce is *chef kiss* so freaking good. I absolutely love this place - it's my favorite lunch spot with the hubs. -5th street location is so convenient and just as tasty!
Marylee B. via yelp.com - Aug 20, 2021
Great chicken and huge portions. 2 piece dark chicken, 2 sides. I'm 4'8" 320 and couldn't finish it
Great chicken and huge portions. 2 piece dark chicken, 2 sides. I'm 4'8" 320 and couldn't finish it all. Those aren't my dimensions I just needed to fill space to write this review.
Harry W. via yelp.com - Aug 18, 2021
Fresh, above expectations. Also the soft serve margarita was amazing. The salt add is knowledgeable
Fresh, above expectations. Also the soft serve margarita was amazing. The salt add is knowledgeable and friendly.
Brandi D. via yelp.com - Aug 17, 2021
Excellent Peruvian chicken! That's what this rating is for. The menu is broader than most other chicken places so I'll be back to try other choices. I should add that 1 side order of fries is enough for 2 to 3 people.
Steve T via google.com - Aug 12, 2021
Hands down the BEST Mexican place in town! Went to visit a friend in Charlottesville and this came up, I ordered about $80 worth of food and it was all worth it. Left overs were so good too! It's definitely hot in there especially when it gets busy. Their Jamaica water was refreshing.
Virginia via google.com - Aug 12, 2021
The chicken was so tender and the fried yuca was so so good..
The chicken was so tender and the fried yuca was so so good..
Mina J. via yelp.com - Aug 7, 2021
The food is very well seasoned and delicious. Only 3 stars due to decor and sauce choices. Luckily, the rotisserie chicken is so well seasoned with a very nice smoke ring, the sauce isn't needed.
Unique Allah via google.com - Aug 6, 2021
Dry ... read more
Mike dean via google.com - Aug 4, 2021
Got takeout from the new 5th street location. The food was amazing as usual and packaged well. Servi
Got takeout from the new 5th street location. The food was amazing as usual and packaged well. Service was very quick and the woman who served me was excellent.
Maddy E. via yelp.com - Aug 3, 2021
Delicious. Burritos are inexpensive and make two meals. Get the street corn, and the horchata. So delicious. Fast service. RIP Choo Choo Town tho.
Cas Crim via google.com - Aug 1, 2021
Tiene el mejor menú buen sazon es una delicia comida 😋
Tiene el mejor menú buen sazon es una delicia comida 😋 ... read more
Ariela Solahs via facebook.com - Jul 31, 2021
The chicken is ok but the yuca portion is ridiculous and as well with the sauces what they give me a
The chicken is ok but the yuca portion is ridiculous and as well with the sauces what they give me as a yuca portion I get at a real Peruvian place 5times the serving. Not a bad place.
Christopher C. via yelp.com - Jul 31, 2021
We've been coming here since they were just a tiny place looking to build a reputation. Always one of the best meals in Charlottesville. We love the chicken so much we don't ever try anything else on the menu. We'll need to rethink that and see what else we could love. Great place!
T via google.com - Jul 27, 2021
Authentic and delicious food!
Authentic and delicious food!
Connie Cole Barajas via facebook.com - Jul 25, 2021
Very good! We had plantains, yucca fries and a "breaded beef" cemita (Mexican sandwich). The fresh oaxaca cheese on the sandwich was enough of a reason to go back!
Andrea Patton via google.com - Jul 25, 2021
Great roasted chicken. The street corn was great but spicy.
Nikki Brown via google.com - Jul 24, 2021
I'm a picky eater, I'll definitely be back 👍 ... read more
John M via google.com - Jul 23, 2021
Popular place. The food is different from standard Mexican however ... It's Peruvian. Don't expect the standard tex mex stuff here. If you like Plantains and Yucca you may fit right in ... read more
Jacob Smith via google.com - Jul 21, 2021
Good Peruvian food for a great price.
Dipa via google.com - Jul 20, 2021
Okay I love Al Carbon more than most things in life. Everything they make is amazing. My favorites a
Okay I love Al Carbon more than most things in life. Everything they make is amazing. My favorites are the shrimp tacos, elotes, fried plantains (get 2 orders so you can eat them again the next day), and of course the chicken. My husband loves the ribs, too. Well today they debuted (brace yourselves) SOFT SERVE MARGARITAS. Yes you re ... read more
Sarah T. via yelp.com - Jul 15, 2021
We’ve always had a great experience here, but lately it’s gone downhill. The last several times we’ve ordered, they’ve forgotten a side or my plantain sauce (which they charge extra for the smidge they give you) and today, the guy argued with my husband that corn “on the cob” comes in a cup. No, that would be corn “off the cob”. Disa ... read more
Kimberly Stevens via google.com - Jul 14, 2021
Yum!! So glad we visited this place while visiting Charlottesville. It was worth the little drive. S
Yum!! So glad we visited this place while visiting Charlottesville. It was worth the little drive. So authentic. Sauces and spices were delicious. You can see the rotisserie chicken coming out of the oven and it looks just so fresh. I really enjoyed the tacos although I wish I got all chicken. Would absolutely stop by again.
Kaylee L. via yelp.com - Jul 12, 2021
Excellent options for sides, well roasted checker. Recommend the green poblano rice.
Nik Palmer via google.com - Jul 10, 2021
Hands down the best food in the area. Their prices appear a little on the high side but the chicken,
Hands down the best food in the area. Their prices appear a little on the high side but the chicken, fries, and street corn are worth every penny!!!
Christopher R via tripadvisor.com - Jul 10, 2021
Fast food style peruvian food that was busy even at 2pm in the afternoon! That's how you know that t
Fast food style peruvian food that was busy even at 2pm in the afternoon! That's how you know that the food is excellent! We got the tacos (shrimp and fish), half chicken w fried yucca and mayonesa corn, and cemitas (seasoned pork). I enjoyed all of the dishes, especially the cemitas sandwich. The restaurant is a seat-yourself style ... read more
Valerie C. via yelp.com - Jul 10, 2021
Muy buena la comida. Porciones abundante. Muy recomendable ... read more
Nico Iglesias - Realtor via google.com - Jul 9, 2021
Me gustaron los camarones esquisito ... read more
Cornelio Diaz via google.com - Jul 4, 2021
Without the sauces the chicken taste fell flat. They charge for the much needed sauces, which reduces the star rating. Many of the sodas were operational and there were a few more flies than I could ignore. The plantains were sweet and the sides in general were enjoyed by all.
who me? via google.com - Jul 2, 2021
Best in town 😊 ... read more
Steven Dellinger via google.com - Jul 2, 2021
Delicious Mac and cheese and plantains ... read more
Holly Baker via google.com - Jul 1, 2021
Much more that meets eye here. Anything that is actually Hispanic here is a 10/10. Their chicken is truly something special. Skip the catch all white people sides like mac n cheese and fries.
Daniel Mimms via google.com - Jun 30, 2021
Our family, including our one very picky son, was thrilled with our visit to Al Carbon. We ordered a
Our family, including our one very picky son, was thrilled with our visit to Al Carbon. We ordered a whole chicken - juicy, tender, perfectly seasoned- yucca fries, plantanos, rice, and mixed vegetables. All of the sides were fabulous, but my favorite were the mixed vegetables. You order food at the counter, and they call your number ... read more
923malindau via tripadvisor.com - Jun 28, 2021
Good chicken! Authentic food. I wish they gave more salsas!
Karen Barraza via google.com - Jun 22, 2021
good experience ... read more
Vance Ward via google.com - Jun 21, 2021
In a word authentic! Great smells and food is amazing. Definitely worth your visit and your money. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Definitely get the rotisserie chicken and one of their amazing sides. They sell alcohol too.
James Reid via google.com - Jun 19, 2021
The best ... read more
Anibal Rivera via google.com - Jun 19, 2021
Everything here is delicious ... read more
Jeremy Sharp via google.com - Jun 12, 2021
The best restaurant in cville!
Tucker Cullen via google.com - Jun 9, 2021
Wife and I decided to try this place last night. Pleasantly surprised. Sauces and chicken were fantastic. The chorizoqueso and guac were awesome. The sides were perfect. Will definitely add to my list of favorites.
Steven Stitz via google.com - Jun 9, 2021
Fantastic charcoal cooked chicken. Sides are adventurous for those accustomed to beans and rice. This is a regular go to for my daughter and I.
Adam Stevens via google.com - Jun 3, 2021
Staying in town for the night, picked this place from the reviews. I had the half chicken, plantains, and yucca. I'm from the South, and accustomed to BBQ slow cooked over a smoky pit, and I eat it without sauces. Let me tell you, the first bite, and I was in heaven. Perfectly juicy and tender without falling off the bone. Incredibl ... read more
Barry Groover via google.com - May 31, 2021
The best rotisserie chicken and tamales in our area. We've only been there once but will surely go a
The best rotisserie chicken and tamales in our area. We've only been there once but will surely go again. I would suggest calling ahead to place your order as it is very busy and takes a little long for your food.
Shelly R. via yelp.com - May 29, 2021
I moved here from Arizona and have relatively high expectations for tacos, while these aren't Mexican tacos, they are absolutely phenomenal. Their tortas are incredible, the esquites are mouth watering, the beans are out of this world. I'd describe more things but I'm running out of cliches. Seriously try anything here I guarantee ... read more
Dillon Ramsey via google.com - May 27, 2021
My husband and I stopped in here on our recent vacation and we were not disappointed! The chicken was unbelievable, and I loved the street corn as well. My husband got the steak sandwich and he thought it was amazing! We will definitely be coming back here if we’re ever in the area! Highly recommend!!!
Cameron Vines via google.com - May 26, 2021
The chicken all by itself is perfectly seasoned and packed with flavor. Add the sauces and the sides
The chicken all by itself is perfectly seasoned and packed with flavor. Add the sauces and the sides, and this is just outrageous. I especially recommend the yucca and the toreados y cebollitas. We ate the leftovers with scrambled eggs the next morning.
mdiv2001 via tripadvisor.com - May 25, 2021
The food here is delicious. Everything I've tried has been on point.
Connie Owuor via google.com - May 24, 2021
Good food, friendly staff.
Ibrar Ahmed via google.com - May 24, 2021
Everything I've had here tastes great! If you go for the special cemita, be ready for a whole lotta good food though!
Taylor Kuykendall via google.com - May 23, 2021
How come it took me 7 years of coming to pick kids up at school to find this place? Very low key, am
How come it took me 7 years of coming to pick kids up at school to find this place? Very low key, amazing food. The white breast meat was tender and juicy and the plantains that I didn't eat made it all the way back to atlanta to eat the next night! Thinking this may be what we order for graduation next may!!! Simple and amazing!
leslie s. via yelp.com - May 23, 2021
We were new to the area last summer, and were excited to try something new. We absolutely loved thei
We were new to the area last summer, and were excited to try something new. We absolutely loved their whole chicken, Mac and cheese, and street corn. The food is so authentic and delicious every time. You cannot go wrong here!
Jared T. via yelp.com - May 23, 2021
Excellent chicken Great service Amazing flavors Nice variety Menu items include a good variety
Excellent chicken Great service Amazing flavors Nice variety Menu items include a good variety ... read more
Phil D. via yelp.com - May 22, 2021
I can't say enough good stuff about this place. The food is absolutely delicious. The first time we
I can't say enough good stuff about this place. The food is absolutely delicious. The first time we tried it we wanted to go back the very same day to try more. An exciting menu with tons of variety and the atmosphere inside is just perfect. This place is an experience that will leave you wanting more.
Carly G. via yelp.com - May 22, 2021
Probably the best food in town. All wood fired, tender and juicy chicken, etc., great tacos, awesome sides. Staff is exceptional!!
Karen Kocik via google.com - May 18, 2021
My husband and I eat here multiple times a week. We crave it when we are out of town and can’t wait to get home to our favorite local spot. The el pastor tacos and cilantro jalapeño sauce are our favorites but honestly- everything on the menu is delicious. We love this place. The service and food are quite simply- amazing.
Ashley Holden via google.com - May 15, 2021
Love this place! Chicken is so tasty! I think my favorite is the green rice. All the sauces have great flavor. My picky kids even like to eat here. They like the yucca fries green rice and chicken legs.
Sandra Spencer via google.com - May 15, 2021
The best chicken I've ever had. And compostable containers, socially distanced, fast. Love love love... Job well done..
Jennifer Blanchard via google.com - May 14, 2021
Once you taste their chicken, you won't be able to eat one of those pathetic, grocery store rotisserie chickens ever again. Add their sauces to the mix, and this place will have you coming back again and again. The sides are delicious, and they actually had cactus on the menu! The new ribs were also good, and the cemitas and tacos ... read more
Brad Arnold via google.com - May 10, 2021
It was OK. The margaritas were expensive for a half of the cup and the rest is ice for 9.00. Not again. Chicken breast were dry but the thighs were juicy. Husband and I made tacos from the La Familia. Seasoning needed.
Cutie Mrs. via google.com - May 8, 2021
Excellent! Very tasty, authentic!
Bonitia Cleary via google.com - May 8, 2021
Our food was good! They give generous portions for both the entrees and kids meals. The only reason
Our food was good! They give generous portions for both the entrees and kids meals. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I wish the chicken and salsa had more flavor.
Stephany W. via yelp.com - May 7, 2021
Great flavor and fabulous side dishes, the horchata is very tasty. Only problem is the long wait.
Janneth Vega via google.com - May 6, 2021
Want To Tell Us About Your Experience?
GoogleMyBusinessFoursquareFacebookYelpZomatoTwitterTrip AdvisorYouTubeGrouponInstagramOpen TablePinterestZagatFlickrLinkedInTumblrTheKnotWeddingWire